DynamicEclectic

DY•NAM•IC [dahy-NAM-ik] -of motion. EC•LEC•TIC [i-KLEK-tik] –of varied interests and topics.

Shade plants

Posted by reeeeeen on June 23, 2007

Here are a couple pictures of some shade plants I planted 2 weekends ago (and 1 before picture to compare).  This area has looked like the ‘before’ picture for close to 5 1/2 years, ever since the HUGE window covering bushes were cut down when I moved in.  The ground is all roots and rocks.  I finally took the shovel and somehow managed to get these in the ground. 

Before

Every day I expect them to be dead.  Rhododendrum, Hosta, Lilly of the Valley, Astillbe, etc.  I’m actually a little disappointed that there isn’t more color.  It looked so much more colorful in the sun when I was bringing them home.  I may have to plant some yellow annuals next year to brighten up the area even more (assuming they live — if they don’t, I’d do it again and plant some yellow perennials!)

After2
 
Before

After1

~Irene

One Response to “Shade plants”

  1. BigRed1 said

    It was pretty incredible how wet you’d get and how hairy you were!

Leave a Reply

 
