DynamicEclectic

DY•NAM•IC [dahy-NAM-ik] -of motion. EC•LEC•TIC [i-KLEK-tik] –of varied interests and topics.

Mystery Flower – What is this? Can you help me identify this flower? Help?

Posted by reeeeeen on July 4, 2007

 <<UPDATE:  MYSTERY FLOWER REVEALED >>

I don’t know much about growing non-edible plants.  I can plant anything in the vegetable garden and cajole it to grow, but I’m forever killing house plants.  Daisies are my favorite perennial flower and, although they grow wild all over creation (just to humble me, I think), I can’t get a daisy to grow in my yard to save my life. 

So, despite my history of torturing flowers, I dragged a new plant home to watch it whimper and die.  Just kidding…I’m trying to be optimistic (I THINK I can, I THINK I can).

I spotted this hanging basket at Home Depot and fell in love with the shape of the blooms and the plant as a whole.  But, there was no tag in the pot, and I haven’t been able to find anything that looks enough like it online to be sure what it actually is.  I love the purple and yellow blooms and the shape of the plant fills up the corner beautifully.  Anyone know what this is?   I took a picture of the plant itself and then a couple of the individual blooms.  I took them at different times of the day so the color looks bluish in one and purple in the other, but the actual color is more purple/violet, not really blue. 

Anyone have an idea what this is? 

Purple Hanging Basket

Purple Flower

Purple Flower 2

Leave a Reply

 
